2017 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes: Projects from around the world

The excitedly awaited entries for the 2017 IOC IAKS Award and IPC IAKS Distinction arrived on time on 31 march 2017 at the IAKS Office.

72 projects from all continents, including ones in Azerbaijan, India, Nigeria, Palestine and Singapore, have competed for the most prestigious international architecture prizes for sports, leisure and recreational buildings. Countries ranging from A for Australia to U for USA are all participating, submitting entries in the following six facility categories:

A Major outdoor stadiums

B Community outdoor grounds and public areas

C Multipurpose halls and major arenas

D Indoor facilities for sports, leisure and recreation

E Pools, spas and wellness facilities

F Specialised facilities for sports, leisure and recreation


The entries received will be adjudicated by an international Jury including Dr. Ching-Kuo Wu (IOC), Gilbert Felli (IOC), Mark Todd (IPC), Wolfgang Becker (Rif University Centre), Kai-Uwe Bergmann (BIG), Ernst-Ulrich Tillmanns (4a architects), Conrad Boychuk (IAKS) and Klaus Meinel (IAKS).

The Jury Session will take place in July 2017. The Jury shall adjudicate based on the following principal criteria: Design concept and its quality; Imagination and innovation; Integration in the urban or rural environment; Legacy; Ecological and economical sustainability; Social sustainability; and Facilities accessible and inclusive to the needs of the widest possible range of users.

The award-winning facilities will be presented to the international public with an Awards Gala Night on 7th November 2017 at the 25th IAKS Congress in Cologne/Germany. Furthermore, they will be presented in a detailed publication and high-grade exhibition to the public at FSB, the international trade fair for Amenity Areas, Sports and Pool Facilities in Cologne from 7 to 10 November 2017.