2015 Highlights

Smiling faces among this year's winners! At the festive gala on 27 October 2015, the IOC, the IPC and the IAKS present the much-coveted medals for exemplary architecture.

Picture gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

Video of the prize-giving ceremony

2015 IOC IAKS Award Winner in Gold, Silver and Bronze

2015 IPC IAKS Distinction Winners

2015 IOC IPC IAKS Award for Students and Young Professionals


Prize-winning projects in 15 countries

Composed of international personalities, the jury for the 2015 IOC/IAKS Award is commending 3 facilities with Gold, 7 with Silver and 14 with Bronze. The IPC/IAKS Distinction for accessible sports facilities is going to 4 participants. The prize-winning projects can be found in 15 countries worldwide. A total of 130 projects in 30 countries have participated in this year's competition.


Special achievements

The most successful architects of the competition are KEINGART – space activators in Denmark, the creative minds behind the Athletics Exploratorium in Odense (Gold) and Tornhøjhallen in Aalborg (Bronze).

Canada and Switzerland are the most successful nations, claiming a total of four prizes each. Two sports facilities for the London Olympics are among the winners: the London Aquatics Centre from Zaha Hadid Architects and the London 2012 Shooting Venue from magma architecture. Two FIFA World Cup stadia have also been awarded prizes: the Arena Fonte Nova in Salvador (Schulitz Architekten and Tetra Arquitetura) and the Beira-Rio Stadium in Porto Alegre (Hype Studio Arquitetura).


Architecture prizes for accessibility and for students

The IPC/IAKS Distinction commends the accessibility of sports facilities and other buildings so that people with disabilities have the opportunity to practise and watch sport without limitations or obstacles. 37 projects have been submitted for the IOC/IAKS Distinction. The 4 prize-winning facilities are located in Puerto Rico, Honduras, Canada and Russia.

The IOC, IPC and IAKS are also presenting, for the third time, the Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals for innovative designs and strategies for sports and leisure facilities. The competition is targeted at young architects, landscape architects and designers who are still studying or in the first two years of their careers.

This prize has attracted 43 young planners and designers from 19 countries. The jury is awarding a Gold medal to Cyprus and a Silver medal to Canada. Bronze is being awarded to Greece and to a project team from the United Kingdom, Singapore and the USA.


129 submissions received

129 projects from all continents, amongst others from Canada, Brasil, Australia, Angola, Japan and Germany, are competing for these most important international architecture prizes for sports, leisure and recreational facilities. Throw a glance at the exciting projects in the following six categories:

A Major outdoor stadiums
B Community outdoor grounds and public areas
C Multipurpose halls and major arenas
D Indoor facilities for sports, leisure and recreation
E Pools, spas and wellness facilities
F Specialized facilities for sports, leisure and recreation


43 submissions from students and young professionals

43 young talents have submitted their inspiring designs. We have compiled some impressions for you:

IOC/IPC/IAKS Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals 2015